Welcome to McCurtain County Oklahoma

McCurtain County, Oklahoma was formed in 1907 from Choctaw lands. The area we now know to be McCurtain County was once part of a larger district of the Choctaw Nation. The County was named for Green McCurtain,Principal Chief of the Choctaw Nation from 1896 to 1900 and then again from 1902 to 1910. Though he never actually lived within what is now McCurtain County, the county was named for him and his family (McCurtain's) that included also two District Chiefs and three Principal Chiefs.
Thanks to: John Ray
McCurtain County birth records are available from 1908, marriage records from 1907, and death records since 1908. Land and court records are on file from 1907. Probate records exist since 1917.The address for the courthouse is:
McCurtain County Courthouse
108 N Central Ave
Idabel, Oklahoma 74745
(580) 286-3693

McCurtain County Links

Old & New Queries

McCurtain County Surnames & Researchers

McCurtain County Cemeteries

McCurtain County Message Board

McCurtain County Archives

McCurtain County Obituaries

1895 Choctaw Indian Nation Map

McCurtain Daily Gazette

McCurtain County Families

McCurtain County Census

McCurtain County Marriages

McCurtain County Libraries

McCurtain County Photographs~ updated

FamilySearch McCurtain County Wiki

site search by freefind advanced

Surrounding Counties

Choctaw County, OK

Pushmataha County, OK

LeFlore County, OK

Little River County, AR

Little River County, Ar Genealogy Society

Sevier County, AR

Polk County, AR

Red River County, TX

Bowie County, TX

Indian Pioneer Papers Collection- Western Heritage Collection

OKGenWeb Resource Page

Oklahoma Obituaries

Oklahoma Historical Society ~ Territorial Records
Dawes Final Rolls, 1st Directory of Oklahoma Territory, & 1890 OK Territory Census

A History of the State of Oklahoma

On Demand- Oklahoma Public Court Case Lookup

County Coordinator - State Coordinator - Assistant State Coordinator -

Special thanks to Harold Massey & Terri Buster

Last update: 30 July 2015

(c) 2013-2015 - J. Myles Felihkatubbe